Skip to content

Introduction

September 15, 2009

Since I have never read the extant entirety of this most celebrated work of Spenser and highly important English poem, I decided that it behooved an Anglophile and bibliophile such as myself to read through this weighty tome. I will not be heaping criticism upon it, nor will I be interpreting much of it. I just want to read and enjoy. Many notable scholarly works have been published on The Farie Queene and I will attempt to make a reasonably comprehensive list of resources during my journey. In this effort I would love to have your assistance – any relevant links are appreciated.

My motivations in creating this blog are threefold: Firstly, that I wish to increase my knowledge of this book for my own curiosity. Secondly, that I wish to keep myself accountable to finishing the whole book, and blogging is my way of exercising persistance. And lastly, I read somewhat quicker than the average person, and I take great pleasure in summarizing things for people, so it is my hope that this endeavor might someday help a confused (or bored, or lazy) student.

I had previously worked on a canto-by-canto summarization of Ariosto’s Orlando Furioso but abandoned it due to my busy and volatile college years. I hope that this project will inspire me to continue work on the Furioso in the future.

Thank you for stopping by!

2 Comments
  1. October 17, 2010 2:31 am

    What you’re doing here is fantastic! But unfortunately I have to read Book III (Chastity) for my survey of English literature course (I’m an English literature major), and if you were a bit further in your summarizing, it would help me more! But again I think this will help people in the future.

    Do you know any good online sources that would help me appreciate Spenser’s work better?

    • bethany permalink*
      October 20, 2010 4:03 am

      Thanks Sety! I recently started a new job that has delayed my plans to get into the second book, but I do hope eventually to get to Book III.

      Online resources are really hard to find. I’ve looked through some of the writings on this page: http://www.luminarium.org/renlit/spenseressay.htm. It may give you some ideas.

      There is also an excellent physical resource called “The Spenser Encyclopedia” that you might be able to locate in a library.

      Good luck with your class!

Comments are closed.

